Author/Editor: Suzette Haden Elgin

Suzette Haden Elgin was born in Missouri in 1936. In the late 60s she found herself widowed, re-married, a mother of five and a graduate student in the linguistics department at the University of California, San Diego. Suzette began writing science fiction novels to pay her tuition. On completing her PhD, she became the only student ever to have to write two dissertations (one on English, one on Navajo) for that purpose; she went on to teach linguistics at San Diego State University, and then retired in 1980 to the Arkansas Ozarks, where she can still be found. 

Her first novel, The Communipaths, was published as half of an "ACE double" in 1970, starting her Coyote Jones series. (That's "Coyote" with three syllables.) Her second Coyote Jones book, Furthest, was published as an Ace Science Fiction Special in 1971; the third in the series, Star-Anchored, Star-Angered was published by DAW Books. Next came The Ozark Trilogy -- Twelve Fair Kingdoms, The Grand Jubilee, and Then There'll Be Fireworks, in 1981.

Books published by, or available from, Spinifex
Native Tongue

Out Now
Dark Matter

Dark Matter

Robin Morgan

I‘ve had me up my sleeve
I‘ve pulled me from my hat
I’ve planted myself in the audience
as the patsy I dare to decipher...



Renate Klein

   Pared down to cold hard facts, surrogacy is the commissioning/buying/ renting of a woman into whose womb an embryo is...

The Pimping of Prostitution

The Pimping of Prostitution

Julie Bindel

This book examines one of the most contested issues facing feminists, human rights activists and governments around the...

I'm the Girl Who Was Raped

I'm the Girl Who Was Raped

Michelle Hattingh

I am the statistic that I read about. I am the thing I always feared most. I am rape.

That morning, Michelle had...

Content © Spinifex Press • Terms & ConditionsContact UsAbout Us